Two Day Attack

“We have detected an abnormally high number of incoming e-mails towards your account wonderlandornot.net coming from many different hosts. This is called flooding/Denial of Service Attack (DDOS attack) and could result in your website being down and even the whole shared server hosting your website being down”

A whole bunch of plaque is trying to clog up the arteries of my blog. I don’t know why anyone would care to do that, or even if it’s intentional, but whatever, I’ve blocked couple of IP addresses from accessing the site also, so if you have a problem let me know. ( not that you’d be able to do it
from here if I blocked your IP though…lol ) My host shuts my accounts down when this happens, at least from what they said they shut it down until the attacks stop. By the time I read it, six hours after it was sent or so, the attacks were over.

Madame Bovary
War and Peace

Yin and the Yang

Two Democrats

Good Evil

Two Republicans, for all intents and purposes.

Two Teams

My Own Two Feet

The Godfather
Das Boot

The Dark Side of the Moon
What’s Going On

Two Days Off (sort of)

Share This
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis
  • del.icio.us
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • NewsVine

RSS feed | Trackback URI

5 Comments »

Comment by DougNo Gravatar
2008-02-01 22:39:48

Are these recommendations? I was not denied service.

 
Comment by laketreesNo Gravatar
2008-02-02 06:25:31

I hope it was a one off attack…
I wouldn’t know the first thing about how to block an IP address…I suppose I had better learn :)

 
Comment by adamNo Gravatar
2008-02-02 10:11:29

that’s really lame. if they take down your site for _fear_ of a DDoS attack, it’s basically giving in.

you might want to check out bad behavior if you haven’t already. since most of the IP’s that would launch such an attack are already in bad neighborhoods, they should be blocked before they even start (in theory).

 
Comment by MorganLighterNo Gravatar
2008-02-02 11:51:09

cooper - who would do such a dastardly thing!

Gustave Flaubert
Leo Tolstoy
Eva Wong
Obama and Hillary
Friedrich Nietzsche
Giants and Patriots
Beverly Cleary
Mario Puzo
Lothar-Gunther Buchheim
Pink Floyd
Marvin Gaye
You
Okay

P.S. This might be a duplicate comment as I submitted this about an hour ago and it did not show up on this post.

 
Comment by cooperNo Gravatar
2008-02-02 17:39:56

Doug: No it’s some kind of attack on my site which eventually can cause my site to crash.

Laketrees: I blocked it through my control panel at my hosting account. I’m sure they will let me know if there are more.

Adam: I just installed it, we’ll see what happens. Thanks.

Morgan: I actually think it came from a site which somehow has it’s content delivered via “Limelight Networks” based out of Tempe Arizona, I believe it is a site on that network which delivers pornographic content which was responsible for the attack - just my opinion.

 
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.

Trackback responses to this post